Thursday
May 26, 2016

The Days When the Most Closings Occur

      |
-A A +A

The Days When the Most Closings Occur

Fridays and the last business day of the month tend to be the busiest for closings, according to the National Association of REALTORS®. Researchers at NAR analyzed the top closing days of 2014 based on existing-home sales data.

Get Closer to Closing

Clearing the Closing Hurdles

Help Your Buyers Reduce Closing Costs

Get First-Timers to Closing

The top seven closing days in 2014 were:

  1. Mon., June 30
  2. Fri., May 30
  3. Fri., Aug. 29
  4. Wed., April 30
  5. Thurs., July 31
  6. Tues., Sept. 30
  7. Fri., Feb. 28
  8. Fri., June 27
  9. Fri., Oct. 31
  10. Fri., Aug. 15

"Spring and summer days figure prominently in the top of the list, but all seasons are represented," researchers note on NAR's Economists' Outlook blog.

The data confirms that, based on existing-home sales data, June and July were the top months for home sales in 2014, followed by August and May. June and July alone accounted for more than 20 percent of the sales that occurred in 2014.

Source: “Part 1: EHS in 2014 by the Numbers – Popular Closing Dates,” National Association of REALTORS® Economists’ Outlook Blog (Jan. 12, 2015)